Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.2
 Rooms  3.8
 Cleanliness  3.0
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.0
 Service & Staff  3.2
 Food / Dining  2.0
 Total  3.5

"Ucool"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Vanessa M. of ACT, Australia
Reviewed:   May 19, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Ucool has really comfy beds, great showers, awesome security, and helpful staff. Having no cerfew is great for a stay in Shanghai, and the location is perfect. Thanks guys.

"UCool is just so cool"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Ali P. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   May 12, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel is great. Huge beds, clean dorms and bathrooms (seriously the water pressure in the showers - AMAZING). The only downer is the smell in the toilets but its China :p. No curfew and great security. The staff are very helpful and willing to help you with anything from directions, the next leg of your journey or finding that great restaurant. I have stayed here on a number of occasions and I highly reccomend it. It's becoming more popular with backpackers and there's always great people to talk to.

"UCool"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Dominique N. of Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed:   April 2, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Awesome hostel - staff are really friendly and helpful.

Did not really enjoy Shanghai but each to their own.

Would recommend UCool for travellers.

"Disorganized, an absence of integrity, and aggressive humiliation tactics."

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Alan I. of Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed:   March 26, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Up to the day before I moved out, it was a mix of satisfactory and unsatisfactory, overall ok, not good, but ok. The price was upped from the amount confirmed to me in Chinese yuan at the beginning. He said he had to use a currency conversion rate higher than banks use to exchange money, "to allow for fluctuations", though my money was already in yuan. Whatever the way they arrived at the price, I was prepared to pay it, if they confirmed the price with me so I'd know. I just asked why they changed it, when they had confirmed the amount at the beginning. The staff gave only the very unsatisfactory answer "We can't do that". So I said I'd get out the extra money that day. When I came in, he had calculated the amount at an even higher amount again. When I politely asked why after a new amount had been confirmed that very morning, again the answer " We can't do that" came. The offer came to speak with the owner-manager. Later that evening while everyone was watching a movie, she walked straight in, switched off the television, stood over me and accused me of refusing me to pay and threatened to throw me out. That was her way of dealing with a matter that made her uncomfortable, to make it look like I was causing a problem. Very ugly.

"UCOOL HOSTEL IN SHANGHAI"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Kev S. of herts, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   January 19, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel was very hard to find when i arrived in Shanghai. I followed the instructions listed on their website but as many people have mentioned here, they are incorrect. Personally i would get the maglev from the airport to the train station, then go on train line 2 and go to People's Square. From there i would get a taxi, which cost me about 75p to the hostel, otherwise it's a nightmare to find because it's hidden.

The hostel itself is very new and looks nice. Once you find where it is then you will agree it's in a good location to get to the Bund and Yu Garden etc.

Downfalls are the heating didn't work! As many people have written here and i reckon they are being cheap charlies and just pretening it didn't work because many reviews before mine said it didn't work either. In the shower room there was a tampax stuck to the shower door (yeah nice)!!! Was stuck there for the whole 2 days i was there.

Overall once you find this place it is worth staying here for a couple of night.

"Awful Experience"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Joe M. of Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed:   November 4, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Don't want to mix my words, don't give your money to bad people


1 - 6 of 6 reviews




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us