Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  4.3
 Rooms  4.1
 Cleanliness  4.1
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.2
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  3.7
 Total  4.1

"Like a prison"

User Rating:  1.4
Reviewer:   Pat M. of Denver, United States
Reviewed:   January 22, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This place is a dump. Moldy walls, old dirty bathrooms, cockroaches and messy kitchen. It's not the worst place I stayed but it's way overpriced. They need a total remodel and new furnishings. Seems the owners just want easy money without providing a nice place. Save your money and get a hotel instead.

"Not in an ideal location"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Mitchell J. of Meredith, NH, United States
Reviewed:   November 17, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2015     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
For a little bit more each night, stay somewhere closer to the touristy section. The closest place thing to here is three or four blocks - and it is a sketchy 24 hour gas station. Francisco, the owner, while helpful, was very rude to us the first night - much of which stems from his poor communication. Because of that, my partner and I transferred hostels - and then he would not refund us our money.

"Not satisfied"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Cynthia B. of NRW, Germany
Reviewed:   September 1, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2015     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I travelled with a friend. We were staying for 1 week. In total we are staying in Puerto Rico for half a year studying in an university. This one week we were looking for a flat. We did not expect to much for the price and that was justified. The accomodation is really simple, waht did not bother us at all. The thing that made us feel very uncomfortable was that it was very very dirty!! Unacceptably dirty. I was surprised that i did not get a virus, as the refrigerator and the bath were just disgusting! Another disadvantage, what the hostel is not in the first position to blame for, was that our food and drinks were stolen out of the fridge, although we had written our names onto them. Very rude!!
All in all I think it is no problem and no suprise that the hostel is simple. All that I expected was cleanliness
.

"Horrible hostel, avoid at all cost"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Ban Hoo C. of Klang, Malaysia
Reviewed:   August 25, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Francisco Rivera the owner is unfriendly, rude and has no customer service attitude. the hostel is dirty, kitchen is messy and stinking, bathroom is never clean for years with a layer of dirt. There were more than 30 reminder s, warnings, instructions sticking all over the room like a military camp. The walls are full of graffiti and so awful. .THIS PLACE IS A HOBO DEN, FIT FOR THE HOMELESS AND VAGABONDS.
He doubled charged me. I paid cash upon arrival and he again charged me in the PayPal. TRAVELERS, BEWARE! Check your PayPal! When I asked him, he did not bother to apologize or explain. He just shrugged off and said, you already got your refund, so nothing to claim back.
DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOSTEL UNLESS THIS IS THE ONLY HOTEL IN SAN JUAN, GO and stay in Posada San Francisco in old San Juan for the same price. It is cleaner and better location.

"shisterspersonal experience..dont book! if you must only for one day"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   James P. of virginia, United States
Reviewed:   April 19, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was used by this so called international hostel..they charged me for days I di not stay, its all a sham at this place..the kitchen smells like dead animals..its in a really shady area, the owner is a rippoff along with his mid east manager.
they don't give a heck you have to leave the place for five hours everyday
don't stay here at all..my mistake your gain

"Horrible ghetto place and owner"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Puneet V. of Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed:   December 19, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hi there
I recently stayed at San Juan international hostel. It's was an aweful, insulting and humiliating experience. The owner- Francisco Rivera, is probably a crazy man. He is rude, unprofessional and unethical person. His hostel is dirty, filty. When asked for a map for San Juan , he told me" no one ever asked map from him before, and if I need one I should download from google"
I stayed in his filthy backpacker on 14-15 of dec 2014, I had to catch a flight on 16th.
So I checked out on 16th midday, and left my luggage(1 bag) with permission of Mr. Rivera. Evening when I returned around 7:30 pm to collect my luggage he was extremely rude and insulted me for unknown reason and kept on threatening me to call the police if I entered his hostel, I told him I m
Not staying here coz I have to go to the airport. He also demanded $30 if I want my bag from the luggage room. I told him this is wired and appalling , as every backpacker , hostel or hotel gives this storage service free of Cost and not only u r asking for this money but u r threatening me for no reason. He threw my bag in front of me and told me to leave his premises immediately or else he will call the police. I asked him if I can say good bye to other backpackers an he said no u can't enter the backpacker and u can say good bye from the road.
This man is totally crazy and wired or probably stays under effect of drugs. Coz I don't understand why he would humiliate traveler for no reason and ask them $30 for releasing their luggage.
He should be reported to the police.
I will expose this man and his dodgy hostel on other website and would recommend you to not to deal with such horrible people and places.


1 - 6 of 6 reviews




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us