Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.4
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.4
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.0
 Total  4.4

"Tonga for advanced travellers"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Jitka S. of Olching, Germany
Reviewed:   January 27, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2013     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed in Mystic Sands Beachfront Motel 6 days. I would like to point out the very warm welcome by the owner and his staff. Also the units are in good order and the site is good maintained. We have visited Vavau in the absolutely low season, so many restaurants and activities around the island were closed. The activities we have booked through Mystic Sands were perfect organised and are really recommendable. The nature of the island is beautiful, however we were quite disapponted by the rubbish along the villages and beaches. Our admiration to Kjell, his wife and his staff to do business in such a difficult surrounding field.

"Great Place to Stay"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Corrina D. of Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed:   November 26, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had an enjoyable time staying at Mystic Sands Beachfront Motel.
We were met at the airport by Kjell and taken into town on our way to the motel to pick up some supplirs for our stay. Kjell booked a snorkling & sailing trip for the next day for us and orgainised buying fruit and vegetables while we were away. Kjell came every morning to check if every thing was OK and if we needed a lift into town. Mossy who looks after the units made us and some of the other guests a lovely Tongan feast one night and we even had left overs for the next day. Mossy is there most of the time and will get you anything you need. Her husband Maka has the local taxi service and will drive you into town or a restaurant when required. The restaurant will ring him up to pick you up at the end of the night. We also went on a tour of the Island with him. There is a small reef at tthe motel just off the beach which is nice for snorkling. The island is a great place to snorkle, sail, dive, fish meet visitors from other countries or just relax and unwind. We left feeling like part of the family.

"Mystic Sands"

User Rating:  1.6
Reviewer:   Mike D. of Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed:   November 23, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2012     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Friendly , Great place to stay , this was my second visit to Mystic Sands

"Peaceful & Tranquil"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Denise B. of Victoria, Australia
Reviewed:   November 1, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed at Mystic Sands for 7 nights in a Beachfront Room. The room was comfortable and cleaned every day. We had our own cooking facilities which was great for cooking our own breakfast and lunch. On our arrival the shopping we ordered earlier over the internet was there waiting for us, with cold beers and soft drinks nicely chilled in the fridge. On our first night at Mystic Sands we enjoyed one of Mosi's Tongan Feasts with some other guests.
Mosi is an amazing Tongan host, housekeeper and cook, she was a delight to see every morning when she came past to ask if there was anything she could do or get for us. Thanks Mosi.
Mystic Sands is about 10 minutes from Neiafu, so whenever we wanted to be taken into town, Maka was always there with his lovely new taxi to drive us in, and only a phone call away to pick us up again.
We went to Neiafu for a few evening meals at some of the local restaurants, our favourites were the Aquarium Cafe and the Mango Cafe. We also enjoyed our meals that we had at the Tongan Resort next door.
We swam with the humpback whales, which was just a fantastic and unbelievable experience. (Another thing to tick off the bucket list)
We used Dolphin Pacific Diving and Whale Watching, who were recommended by Kjell and Adriana. The boats picked us up every morning from the jetty and dropped us back after our days diving and whale watching. After our days activities we could sit back and relax under the beautiful shady trees or just wander out to the end of the jetty and dive into the beautiful blue waters for a swim or snorkel.
We just loved our stay at Mystic Sands and wished we were still there. Thanks again to everyone at Mystic Sands for a truly wonderful holiday.

"Welcoming and friendly"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Baz H. of Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed:   October 29, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2012     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good motel and location. Although beachfront with good snorkeling and access there is not a sandy beach out the front. Mind you not many motels on the island have a beach.

"Loved Mystic Sands"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Leanne T. of Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Reviewed:   October 13, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We just spent 2wks at Mystic Sands Vava'u Tonga for a whale swim and diving trip. It was a lovely location, right on the water with a sandy beach which is raked every day and huge shade trees. The housekeeper Mosi gave wonderful service, checking morning and night if we needed anything, which would magically appear while we were out. She is also a fabulous cook and does meals and a buffet which is not to be missed. The resort is about 10mins drive from town, but we saw that as a positive. The rooms were spacious, and while they are soon to be modernised, they were meticulously clean. I would highly recommend Mystic Sands, and will be travelling there again.

"Mystic Sands Tonga"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sandra B. of Sydney NSW, Australia
Reviewed:   October 4, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had a fantastic stay at Mystic Sands. Picked up at the airport and shown around town then stopped to let us get some supplies before being taken to the house. Accomodation was awesome, right on the beach with the boats picking us up to go whale swimming from the jetty right out the front. Great snorkelling right out the front also. Kjell was so helpful with anything we needed and Mossie the housekeeper was an absolute gem, stopping by every day to see if we needed anything else from the shops and cooking a fabulous feast for us one night which we had right over the water. Maka her husband was great also, acting as a private taxi service into town and back and anywhere else we needed to go. Couldn't rate the place more highly, so relaxing away from it all, would definitely come back

"Whale of an Experience"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jennifer M. of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed:   October 2, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2012     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Mystic Sands is the perfect location for a relaxing break or an awesome whale swimming/scuba/snorkling experience, all operators pick you up directly from the pier outside your doorstep.

Ideally set right on the waters edge amid a tropical garden, only 5 self contained units so it never gets noisybut cosy enough to get familiar with your neighbours (apart from the noisy roosters which are all over Tonga - EVERYONE mentions them - lol). The units are very clean, serviced daily and have all the amenities needed to be self sufficient.

Kjell, the proprietor, will take you to the village to stock up on food etc but if you want to be spoiled, Mosi, the housekeeper will cook you a delicious breakfast or diner for a small fee.

The position is wonderful, you can snorkel right off the pier, heaps of small tropical fish or take the kayaks out and explore the surroundings.

Had a fantastic time. Thanks to Kjell, Adriana and Mosi.

"Great Value in Vava'u"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   David K. of Nuku'alofa, Tonga
Reviewed:   October 1, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2012     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed 5 nights at Mystic Sands and it was toughly enjoyable. With 4 people traveling, we had the family apt. and it was very comfortable. Beds were comfortable and clean and great shower with hot water. No food service except for what you bring in and what Mosi (housekeeper) might prepare for one of her delicious feasts. Mystic sands is great location for boat pickup on day trips for snorkeling, diving and/or whale watching. We had great covered porch overlooking bay and spend many hours watching the sights. Coffee hour was always about 3 hours actually. Great place.

"Mystical Holiday"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Christopher B. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   September 18, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Mystic Sands is an idylic accommodation. The resort is close enough to town to be out of town as well. The rooms are clean and neat. The staff are fantastic. If you want the housekeeper will prepare a breakfast for you and deliver to the room. More then 1 person can eat. Each Friday the housekeeper also prepared a Tongan feast for $40, all you can eat and so delicious. The resort has it's own taxi service to town usually at your beckon call. Whilst tehre is no restaurant or bar the larger Tongan Beach Resort is next door for you use.
Would thoroughly reccomend Kjell and his staff for a relaxing holiday.


1 - 10 of 50 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us