Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.7
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.1
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  3.9
 Total  3.9

"Simple OK"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Ignacio V. of Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewed:   February 27, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Simple OK

"Great hostel, staff and vibes!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Brij G. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   February 11, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed for 3 days, the staff were always helpful, friendly and chilled out. Really nice folks! The hostel has a homely feel to it and makes you feel cosy. Perfect place to stay on a budget in Santa Barbara, I will go back ! Brij

"Pleasure at IHSP"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Eva S. of Santa Monica, United States
Reviewed:   February 10, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was a pleasure staying at Santa Bstbara IHSP. My first night was the best. The breakfasts were fun and tasty. And I came to a good place overall. Thanks IHSP!
Eva 🦄

"There is no AC (heating or cooling) inside the rooms"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Daniel B. of LA, United States
Reviewed:   February 8, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff simply hides the heating fans to save on electricity.
At winter time during the night it gets cold, but there are not heating fans or radiators at the house/hostel.
I asked the house keeper for a heating fan and got reluctant replies such as all heating fans are already inside the rooms, and I should ask those who doesn't use it. So I actually went and asked every single person in the hostel whether they had heating fans to realize that even people who stayed there for 2 weeks never saw a single heating fan or radiator so they sleep with coats at night.
Only after two more tries asking the house keeper for a heating fan, she eventually went and got one for my room.
It was very unpleasant experience, I will not go to this hostel again.

"😊"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   E S. of Santa Barbara, United States
Reviewed:   January 28, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I live the location, price, and safety. It was really loud and studying and sleeping early would have been a nightmare if the air purifier thing wasn't in the room. The noise of that saved me because it combated the noise. Having that in the room was a life saver because my time was spent writing papers.

The problem is that there was a cover in my room (room5) under it was mold and yellow ceiling debris. There were flies near it. I think this needs to be fixed because of safety. For people with upper respiratory issues, staying in this room could exacerbate symptoms. Some young ladies also use the bathroom with the shower to put on makeup only. They would often take a while which I understand but is not cool when you really need to use the bathroom. To help with this, putting more mirrors in the rooms and or bathrooms without showers would be helpful.

Other than these issues, my stay was nice,

E.

"Great Place to Visit"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Clovis H. of Porto Alegre, Brazil
Reviewed:   January 17, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2016     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Santa Barbara is a great place to visit! Amazing views! Breakfast, infrastructure and environment are good.

"Was good"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Madlin S. of Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed:   January 14, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Met nice people. Accomodation really small, too small! Really busy at breakfast, nearly no room to eat breakfast

"IHSP - Better Than Expected"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Hobo Todd D. of Los Angeles, CA, United States
Reviewed:   December 29, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
As an avid traveler, I am constantly searching for new and exciting ways to experience life on the go. There are tons of great things to do in Southern California and when exploring the Golden State, airbnb and camp grounds are the usual choice. But, that's because I didn't realize until recently that other options were available. Hostels are one of my favorite places to stay and though they are plentiful in many other parts of the world, the U.S. is in short supply of them. So when looking for a simple place to lay my head down in Santa Barbara, I was relieved to discover IHSP. The price was perfect and the atmosphere was even better. The IHSP appears to have been an old house in another life. It is situated within walking distance to a variety of eating and drinking establishments as well as grocery stores. What really made the IHSP such a pleasant experience though, were the amenities and the people. The downstairs consists of a common area living room and kitchen with easy access to a secluded back deck outside the kitchen. Everything needed to cook a meal was available, and guests sat around casually munching on their food while chatting with each other. The living room is cozy, complete with a fireplace, t.v., movies, and books. Free wifi is available. The decor is fun with a map of the world and pins for travelers to mark their origin, unique art and a chalboard for folks to leave messages and quotes. While relaxing on the couch in front of the fireplace, I enjoyed the company of a gentleman from the Netherlands who was passing through on his way to go surfing in San Diego. I also met a few people from Brazil and Australia. Everyone was nice, to include the staff. The sleeping quarters were in a dorm style with bunk beds, the sheets were clean, and although there is no curfew, there is a designated quiet time to facilitate those who need their rest. The bathrooms were clean and none of my belongings were stolen. All in all, IHSP is a great place to stay and has set the bar for what a SoCal hostel ought to be.

"."

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Marc W. of Oakdale, United States
Reviewed:   December 28, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2016     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The front desk people were awesome, great outdoor kitchen area. Very nice place, No complaints for this hostel. Maybe not enough bathrooms but thats really the only small negative I can think of. Overall 5 out of 5

"Unimpressed"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Laura K. of Los angeles, United States
Reviewed:   December 13, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Room was $15 more than official website online price said. Check in took half an hour as we waited for the receptionist to finish arguing with other guests. Morning staff didn't show up and the guy they called in was rude, slow, and offensive. Sorry we weren't "exotic" enough for you. If I'm paying that much for a poor hostel at least treat me with respect and like a customer. Breakfast might be free but we were unwilling to spend two hours waiting for a pancake. One and a half bathrooms and the only shower needed to be turned off with a screwdriver? Definitely not worth the price. 30 minute walk from downtown. Disappointing that such a lovely town has such a crummy hostel


1 - 10 of 155 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us