Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"Great location"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Lindsey W. of Denver, United States
Reviewed:   November 24, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very clean, staff friendly and very helpful

"AMZAZING"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Victoria B. of San diego, United States
Reviewed:   November 16, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel was just incredible in every way. Loved all the staff. Chris at the front desk was especially helpful and made sure our stay was outstanding!!! Great Location!!!

"Great stay at IHSP French Quarter House"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Bria L. of Nashville, United States
Reviewed:   November 15, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Staying at IHSP French Quarter House was the best decision we could have made on our trip to New Orleans. Upon stepping inside the hostel, we were immediately greeted with a friendly and warm welcome. It was incredible to meet people from other countries and share community living while we were there. IHSP French Quarter House is kept very clean. There is a back porch to hang out on. The hostel is also located so close to everything. We were right in the heart of it all. I am so glad I stayed here!

"Good first experience"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Tranisha A. of Seattle, United States
Reviewed:   November 11, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This was my first time at a hostel. It was a good experience.

"Finding the title is always the hardest part imo"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Julia M. of Winnetka, United States
Reviewed:   November 8, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I love New Orleans, I fell in love with that place when I first visited in May '17 and I came back to stay at the same hostel. In the following, I'll try and find words for what I experienced.

Staff: Every single one who is working at that hostel has a somewhat unique character and I'm willing to claim that every visitor will have their favorite - if they don't like all of them. There are faces one is more likely to see, depending on when the visitor likes to spend time at the hostel.

The House: It's an open house consisting of an upstairs, downstairs and outside part. The rooms are big, it says "12-bed-dorm", but one can close a door in between, which makes it more of a "6-bed-dorm", for those concerned (at least in those rooms I've been in). There's a main area everybody can and will use, as well as the kitchen. Breakfast is simple and great, especially after a night out, since noone likes to worry where to go have breakfast when they're hungover for example. There's coffee and tea around the clock and whatever you need, you'll find. Just wash your dishes and put your names on your stuff, that you store in fridge or freezer. The backyard/patio is one of my fav spots. There are benches and tables and you can have dinner or pregame or sit and talk or let your soul be enlighted by whatever noises you might hear from rampart street.
Audience: As you might have guesses already: There are rather young people staying in hostel. However, young is a stretchable word, thus you'll find people of many ages staying in the hostel. I have spend 3 nights both in May and Nov and I have never experienced personal trouble as in disrespect or being too loud at night or ignorant in general. Everybody is carrying around their own little story, and almost everybody is willing to share. And those who don't don't make a big deal out of not-sharing. They're still fun. You will make friends, if you're open to that. You will have a great time, if you're looking for that.
Location: It's perfectly close in walking distance to all of the french quarter, you'll figure out your way pretty soon, it's hard to get lost, when you have a slight grasp or orientation. Therefore everything the tourist heart desires is pretty much around the corner. If you wanna go further you'll take the streetcar located right outside the hostel on rampart street. Pretty easy, again, you'll figure it out.

Information: If you need any information or help of any kind, the staff will be there and will inform you. If you though have anxiety and this is a social experiment of yours to go out and face the truth by staying in a hostel: You don't necessarily have to talk to anyone. You can also read every piece of information that nice people have put up on the walls all over the front office room, common area and hallway. Or, you know, use Google.

Whenever I'll come back to this city, I will stay and this place. It has made me happy and provided a roof over my head and bed to come back to every night. November felt like coming home to me, which is weird and beautiful, just like this place (kinda). xo

"Everyone in NoLa says another hostel is better"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Simon S. of WA, Australia
Reviewed:   October 31, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This leads me to beliveing they are all fine, transient and plenty clean. Like a lot of big city hostels, its about who u with, everything else fine, guy working there was chill, girl with glasses less so

"Excellent Location"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Martin L. of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed:   October 3, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The place is in a great location, in the edge of the French Quarter, walking distance to the night life. And easy access to public transport.
Breakfast is good, staff is helpful. Cleaning could be improved

"Great hostel! I will be back"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Mariana L. of Recife, Brazil
Reviewed:   September 17, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I chose the hostel because of a friend recommendation and I have no regrets! The location is great, the bed is comfortable and most of the staff is really nice! They have a kitchen, so you can cook with you want, fridge and lockers in case you want to use it. In the mornings, they provide coffee and waffles or pancakes. When I visit Nola again, I will definitely be staying there.

"Need to be condemned"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Shelia D. of Brownsville, United States
Reviewed:   September 11, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
IHSP French Quater is the worst house I ever booked this place was very very nasty the room look like a jail cell they had 6 bunk beds in one very small room if I had a dog I wouldn't let my dog sleep in there . I would sleep out on the street before I would this place ...the picture of the rooms look nothing like the picture on the internet they false advertising this place of business need be reported to the BBB so they can condemn them.... This place of business should be rated as a negative zero a one is too high for them to be rated this is how discussing this place of business was......The manger didn't even want to give us our money back this place is a dump..😠😠😠😠

"Nice"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Maelys C. of Angers, France
Reviewed:   July 25, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A really nice place to stay and rest during a trip in New Orleans.
The hostel is close to Bourbon street but not noisy.


1 - 10 of 203 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us