Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.4
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.5
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.2

"Wonderful hostel in a great location"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Catriona S. of Winsford, Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   April 18, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed here in a 12 person female dorm room with 2 of my friends who were visiting me whilst I'm here in the US on my Study Abroad year. We had a fantastic experience at IHSP. The staff were super friendly during check in and check out as well as whenever we happened to bump into them and they gave us great recommendations for things to do in the local area. The kitchen facilities were great, the rooftop a wonderful addition and the bedrooms were super comfy. The showers were difficult to get to the right temperature but that really was my only issue. Breakfast pancakes were superb and the area feels very safe. It's easy to get downtown or to the airports too. We had a great time and would definitely return and recommend to others.

"Great Bang for Your Buck"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Jeffrey S. of Lincoln, NE, United States
Reviewed:   April 18, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This was my third time staying at the IHSP Chicago. I always feel like I get a good deal when I stay there. It's nice to be able to make friends with other travelers and be near so many bars, restaurants, and stores. The location is nice too since it's right near the blue line.

"welcoming and friendly atmosphere"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Abeyeow G. of minneapolis, United States
Reviewed:   April 11, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i enjoyed my stay here felt welcomed and staff were very welcoming and friendly i look forward to coming back

"IHSP Wicker Park"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Joe R. of Ypsilanti, United States
Reviewed:   April 10, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've stayed at IHSP three times now. As hostels go, it's pretty good, although some things could be improved.

Pros: It's cheap, the location is convenient, and the staff are mostly friendly. Unlike some hostels, there is more than one bathroom per floor, so you can usually find an unoccupied one on your floor. If you like Pancakes, oatmeal, and Folger's coffee, the free breakfast is convenient.

Cons: The lights in the common area turn off at 11pm, because there are bedrooms adjacent to them. Having stayed in one of the adjacent rooms, I appreciate the lower noise level, but I think this goes too far. There should be a few lamps near the couches, at least. Also, the refrigerator is kind of gross--a lot of food going bad in there. There aren't enough plates, cups, or silverware in the kitchen--often there are just not-very-clean plastic utensils. People sometimes make a mess in the bathrooms, but (to the staff's credit) they generally clean it out in a reasonable amount of time.

Overall: I recommend staying here. If you're on a tight budget, the free breakfast can save you some money. Definitely bring some disposable utensils so you don't have to use the ones there, though (and also bring your own towel).

"More than just a place to stay."

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Andre H. of Auburn, AL, United States
Reviewed:   April 6, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
IHSP Chicago exceeded every expectation I had and I highly recommend that anyone traveling to Chicago alone stay at this hostel. The hostel is more of a community of 20-somethings looking to explore the city than just a place to rest your head at night. I became close with a lot of my fellow residents at IHSP and I full intend to stay there again the next time I am in Chicago.

"Would not recommend IHSP Chicago"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Emma S. of Minneapolis, United States
Reviewed:   April 3, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a mixed experience at IHSP Chicago. On the positive side, the hostel is in a safe location close to night life and lots of great restaurants. It is also relatively cheap (but do note that many of the nearby restaurants are pricey). If you plan to stay bring cash to pay your room fee. I tried to pay with a credit card and was told that there would be an additional charge for credit cards, so I had to use the ATM and incur charges associated with that. The front desk staff was not unkind, but they did not seem trained in good customer service. The room we stayed in wasn't much to look at, which is fine because it was cheap, and it seemed clear that the sheets hadn't been changed since the last guest. The worst part of our experience was that a large college group decided to meet directly outside our room for a late-night meeting. This wasn't the hostel staff's fault, but late-night noise is something to be aware of if you decide to stay here. If you're looking for a clean place where you can get a good night's sleep, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a place to meet other travelers and you don't care as much about cleanliness or customer service, this is not a bad choice.

"Amazing experience!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Sheila C. of Odense, Denmark
Reviewed:   April 2, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have visited many countries in the world and I like to use hostels, because of all the different people you meet and the price is great!
I must say IHSP Chicago is the best hostel I have ever been in, the whole atmosphere and the people working here are so warm and welcoming and do everything to make sure you are feeling "at home" even that you are just staying for a day or a week!

"It was horrible - never ever again"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Henrike K. of Dresden, Germany
Reviewed:   April 1, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We booked a double room in this hostel and what we got was not like aspected. This is a real hostel. Disgusting young people making party the whole night. You can't get any rest during night because the walls are so thin - you can hear every word of the neighbors and every step from the people walking up and down the floors. The bathrooms are dirty and the shower up on our floor was cold. The room very tiny with a bed and not much more in it. That's not what I expected when I book a private room at that price range. So this is why this hostel won't see me again.

"Cool experience!"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Alodia L. of Las Vegas, United States
Reviewed:   March 30, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This was my first time staying at a hostel and I must say it was a great experience! The staff were very hospitable and you meet other people who are staying in the hostel. The location of the hostel is walking distance to everything. The price of this hostel makes me want to book another trip to Chicago!

"Would love to stay again! Thank youu"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Susan And Aaron S. of Detroit, MI, United States
Reviewed:   March 26, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Everything was great from the help with a late check in time, to the pancake breakfast, fridge freebees, and shared space cleanliness and it has a creative, hip atmosphere. The staff was most helpful and accommodating :) ...
We were in the room loop C and got in a little after midnight. It was a bit bright during the evening hours. We had to drape towels over the top bunk bars to make it dark enough to sleep comfortably. We are vampires btw. Joking! ... but dark curtains would be a comforting option to have. Also having more blankets available would be good :) but we did find some ourselves after calling customer service ...
Overall the blankets and carpet could be cleaner, curtains would be a great option but overall it was a great time... Thank you!


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 431 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us