Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.4
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.5
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.2

"Not too bad"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   D K. of Austin/Texas, United States
Reviewed:   May 20, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Staff helpful and welcoming even if a bit absent-minded and "too" chill sometimes. Utilities not great, we ran out of toilet paper several times, not enough showers for the huge number of residents. Wifi really bad, laundry for guests doesn't work neither.
Hostel clean, great terrace on the roof, good location (25 min from downtown via subway) and 2min from subway.

"Great price for the location"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Juan I. of mar del plata, Argentina
Reviewed:   May 14, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Chicago's Six Corners is one of the best places of Chicago. If you have visited Chicago before of don't want be in downtown, this is the place, as the blue line will take to the loop in about 20min and you get to stay in a great young/beer/coffee/food oriented hood of the best city ever!

"Pretty nice stay at IHSP Chicago Hostel"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Sophie L. of Toulouse, France
Reviewed:   May 4, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel location is very good, literally a block away the metro on the blue line which is direct to both the airport and Chicago dowtown.

The room (10 beds mixed-dorm) was ok and the linen provided were clean. The very good point of the hostel is the warm common room. It is very easy to chill there while it is raining outside. The breakfast with the pancakes is really nice!

"Great hostel in a great location"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Carly D. of Minneapolis, United States
Reviewed:   May 2, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hostel is in a very convenient location for public transportation and is near many good restaurants and bars. It's a great place for a social stay. If you are looking for something private/quite this may not be the place for you.

"Great place to stay!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Dean F. of Cape Girardeau, United States
Reviewed:   May 2, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
2nd trip to the Windy City, was great! No frills, just a good and secure room and a clean place to clean up!

"Super cool!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Bryan N. of Austin TX, United States
Reviewed:   April 24, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have stayed at this hostel multiple times and it is always great fun. Simple, dorm style rooms, and the location cannot be beat. I usually am traveling with 15-20 people and this works out well.

"Wonderful hostel in a great location"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Catriona S. of Winsford, Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   April 18, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed here in a 12 person female dorm room with 2 of my friends who were visiting me whilst I'm here in the US on my Study Abroad year. We had a fantastic experience at IHSP. The staff were super friendly during check in and check out as well as whenever we happened to bump into them and they gave us great recommendations for things to do in the local area. The kitchen facilities were great, the rooftop a wonderful addition and the bedrooms were super comfy. The showers were difficult to get to the right temperature but that really was my only issue. Breakfast pancakes were superb and the area feels very safe. It's easy to get downtown or to the airports too. We had a great time and would definitely return and recommend to others.

"Great Bang for Your Buck"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Jeffrey S. of Lincoln, NE, United States
Reviewed:   April 18, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This was my third time staying at the IHSP Chicago. I always feel like I get a good deal when I stay there. It's nice to be able to make friends with other travelers and be near so many bars, restaurants, and stores. The location is nice too since it's right near the blue line.

"welcoming and friendly atmosphere"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Abeyeow G. of minneapolis, United States
Reviewed:   April 11, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i enjoyed my stay here felt welcomed and staff were very welcoming and friendly i look forward to coming back

"IHSP Wicker Park"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Joe R. of Ypsilanti, United States
Reviewed:   April 10, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've stayed at IHSP three times now. As hostels go, it's pretty good, although some things could be improved.

Pros: It's cheap, the location is convenient, and the staff are mostly friendly. Unlike some hostels, there is more than one bathroom per floor, so you can usually find an unoccupied one on your floor. If you like Pancakes, oatmeal, and Folger's coffee, the free breakfast is convenient.

Cons: The lights in the common area turn off at 11pm, because there are bedrooms adjacent to them. Having stayed in one of the adjacent rooms, I appreciate the lower noise level, but I think this goes too far. There should be a few lamps near the couches, at least. Also, the refrigerator is kind of gross--a lot of food going bad in there. There aren't enough plates, cups, or silverware in the kitchen--often there are just not-very-clean plastic utensils. People sometimes make a mess in the bathrooms, but (to the staff's credit) they generally clean it out in a reasonable amount of time.

Overall: I recommend staying here. If you're on a tight budget, the free breakfast can save you some money. Definitely bring some disposable utensils so you don't have to use the ones there, though (and also bring your own towel).


1 - 10 of 427 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us