Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.1
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.4
 Food / Dining  4.1
 Total  4.4

"Santa Catalina Convento"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Laurie L. of Boulder, United States
Reviewed:   May 30, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The front desk staff was very helpful, however I did see that they double charged us for a night and we paid over $100 extra, so watch your bills carefully. The housekeeping and general staff were great, very helpful with luggage, etcetera. The restaurant I believe is overpriced for quality, the staff very slow and not so nice, we only ate one breakfast and lunch there after that experience. The setting is quite lovely, and for the price, it is well worth it and the rooms are nice. There was a little negligence of lamps working, but the rooms were kept very clean and all our possessions safe.

"gracias por todo"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Bette J. of Cody, United States
Reviewed:   April 5, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2016     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had a wonderful seven-night stay at el Convento Santa Catalina. I wish to especially thank the chef for preparing a chicken soup for me one afternoon because i was having stomach problems. That was beyond the call of duty. Please greet the lady assistant chef for me -- cuyo nombre me he olvidado.

We also enjoyed Miko who came to our room for a nap.

I would certainly make reservations at your hotel again. I have stayed there with Refuge on other occasions. Room 106 is wonderful.

Mil gracias y hasta la proxima.

Bette Jaedicke

"Great location, friendly and full of character"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   David M. of Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 3, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Located right under the Arch - nice cloistered terrace restaurant. No computer available for guests, but they have a sister hotel nearby where we went to check-in to our flights and print-off our boarding passes.

Certainly will stay there again when next in Antigua. price ~ $30 per person. Note that the Lonely Planet Guide's description of this hotel is wrong and they've mixed-up the Hotel Convento Santa Catalina with some luxury $$$ hotel

"Very beautiful hotel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   C L. of Philadelphia, PA, United States
Reviewed:   July 22, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We spent several times this summer in the Hotel Convento Santa Catalina in Antigua, Guatemala. We got to stay in a couple of different, equally beautiful rooms in the cloister of the old convent. This hotel is unique, we found the interior to be as authentic as the exterior. So many times in Spain I have been disappointed that Paradores' interiors were too modern and non-descript. This hotel retains it's historical sense inside as well as out. Hotel management and staff were extremely helpful in arranging transportation all over the country. It is right in the heart of Antigua, near the square and on a street of lively restaurants and cafes. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

"Great oasis"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Jeff C. of Everett, United States
Reviewed:   April 26, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Beautiful court yard and patio. Nice rooms. Restaurant was also good. A little quirky - if you want 5 star perfection, this is not it, but problems not a big deal and staff was responsive. We visited during semana santa, so crowds in town were big - this hotel is right in the middle of everything, and stepping thru the door, out of the noise and crowds in the street, and into the {relatively} quiet court yard, was wonderful.

"Good hotel!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jose D. of DF, Mexico
Reviewed:   December 22, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Tks again hotel Sta Catalina. Sorry, I made a mistake in my last evaluation. I thought only 5s


Previous 10 results  11 - 16 of 16 reviews




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us