Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.3
 Rooms  2.7
 Cleanliness  3.1
 Location  3.3
 Security & Safety  2.9
 Service & Staff  2.9
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  3.1

"Hong Kong Downtown Backpackers RUDE receptionist..."

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Juan D. of Manila, Philippines
Reviewed:   April 29, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2013     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the worst experience i have in online hostel booking. imagine arriving in hong kong downtown backpackers and being refused of your reservation, with the rude old chinese woman almost pushing us out of the queue while inquiring becoz she is damn busy becoz there's lot of complaints bombarding her! we have no choice but to roam around hong kong to look for another hostel to accommodate us. the place is not worth your money and your effort...

"Highly NOT Recommended"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Lexi L. of Makati, Philippines
Reviewed:   June 29, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2012     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I wouldn’t recommend this place at all. PERIOD.

First, when we arrived the “manager” asked HK$ 500 more without explaining what is it for.
Second, I booked a QUAD type and what was given was a room with two beds.
Third, when we entered the room smells as if someone has just vacated it with smoking guests.

There was a deposit of additional HK$ 100 for the key. Where on earth did you find a hotel where there’s a deposit to be made for keys?? I doubt you have that experienced somewhere else.

The bed sheets and pillow cases were not as freshly laundry as what every guest expects when they enter their room. When I tried to ask that this is not what I saw online and booked, he even raised his tone at me saying that I complained a lot and should have said “thank you” instead. Crazy guy! Why do I have to thank that guy who actually steals money from me??? Hello?!? You are definitely out of your mind mister.

Location was a mess, too. There were many other nationals (which I dunno specifically—they are black).

I wouldn’t let this scheme continue so spread the word and make sure Hong Kong Downtown Backpackers’ management must learn how a business runs. Not like this that everywhere you look was not worth of your penny.

"Small"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   David B. of Lipa City, Batangas, Philippines
Reviewed:   December 5, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My friends and I arrived at the inn a few minutes late from the time we were supposed to check in. And the manager already canceled my reservation, without even attempting to contact me. But he rebooked us in a much smaller room. I won't be coming back at this hotel again.

"the worst place"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Beka T. of Davao City, Philippines
Reviewed:   April 23, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Regretted booking for HK Downtown Backpackers, it is the worst hostel we ever stayed. Not safe, dirty surrounding and the owner was not good. Instead of staying 3 nights we transferred right away the following day to HK Island. The City Garden Hotel. I should have listen to most of the reviews i have read. Its true it is in the center of Tsim Sha Tsui but not a good place to stay.

"nice place"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Jason W. of SN, Australia
Reviewed:   June 15, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Would deffinately recommend staying here, the rooms were very clean, the place had only been open two weeks and they were very welcoming. If your looking for a budget place to stay whilst travelling i would deffinately recommend ths place :)

"No Good!"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   MRS Seno S. of Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewed:   December 10, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2009     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We went to this Tai Wan Hostel thing and we met the receptionist in the hall way. we were supposed to check in at downtown backpackers hotel. this guy came out from the hall way and directly SHOUTED at us that there is no room for us! we got confused knowing that we thought everything was all set when we arrive at the hostel but suddenly this guy was yelling at us that there is no room for us. he even called one of my family members CRAZY! yet he was the one who shouted at us first.
A WARNING FOR THOSE WHO ARE STAYING OR PLANNING TO STAY AT DOWNTOWN BACKPACKERS OR TAI WAI HOSTEL:
NEVER BE LURED WITH THE CHEAP HOSTEL RATE THAT THEY OFFER. THE RECEPTIONIST SEEMED TO HAVE RECENTLY RELEASED FROM THE MENTAL HOSPITAL BECAUSE OF HIS BAD AND STINKY ATTITUDE. YOU WILL NEVER GET YOUR MONEY BACK ONCE YOU PAID ON THE INTERNET AND HE DOESN'T EVEN CARE WHERE YOU STAY THE MOMENT YOU ARRIVE THERE AND HE WON'T ADMIT YOU TO HIS HOSTEL.BESIDES THE HOSTEL IS VERY DIRTY AND IT HAS ONLY ONE ELEVATOR WORKING TO SERVICE ALL OF THE FLOORS. YOU WOULD HAVE TO WAIT FOR ALMOST AN HOUR TO GET A RIDE ON THE ELEVATOR ELSE YOU TAKE THE STAIRS.
AS AN ADVICE, LOOK FOR OTHER HOSTELS OUTSIDE CHUNGKING MANSIONS. THEY HAVE BETTER ACCOMMODATION THERE COMPARED TO TAI WAI OR BACKPACKERS HOTEL WHO DOESN'T HAVE ENOUGH ROOMS TO ACCOMMODATE A LARGE GROUP.
LASTLY, THE ONE THAT TAKES CARE OF YOUR RESERVATION IS NOT THERE WHEN YOU CHECK IN. THEY ARE DIFFICULT TO REACH AND WOULDN'T EVEN TAKE YOUR CALLS. YOU DON'T KNOW WHO TO CLARIFY YOUR RESERVATIONS WITH BECAUSE THERE IS NOBODY THERE!!!!

"HONG KONG BACKPACKERS"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Ludovico B. of Iloilo, Philippines
Reviewed:   March 20, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I HAD A NICE STAY AT hONG KONG bACKPACKERS... i BOOKED two days but i decided to extend four more days during my HK trip. Management is very good and staff great especially mr MIKE....he easily recognized while iwas looking for the place when we arrived early in the a.m. I would recommend you so stay here. Youpay a cheap proce but excellent accomodation... THIRD Philippiines March

"They are service mind and friendly"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Alhambra C. of German, Germany
Reviewed:   January 15, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
They are service mind and friendly, bathroom isn't good but not the problem can use. Only we are don't like in internet room the hostel have allow to client smoking in side.

"reasonable Price"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Ezekiel H. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   December 19, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Overall experience is good. the internet accessin room is free. The staff are friendly, Location wise is very good. Very near to the beach and the bed is really comfortable. Small, yet cozy. Price is reasonable.

"wonderful experience in downtown backpacker"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Boon Kwang N. of singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   November 19, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
downtown backpacker is a clean and well maintain backpacker in Hong Kong.Landlord is also reliable.


1 - 10 of 23 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us