Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.1
 Rooms  4.3
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.4
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  3.9
 Total  4.4

"Hilo hostel"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Michal P. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   March 14, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was very disappointed about this hostel: there is no tours from hostel, they advertised on the website they have cheap tours but when I ask the guy on the desk just say rent car is cheaper so I had to find tours somewhere else coz I am not driving, then I wanted rent a bicycle but they only had 2 but only 1 is working so wats the point I was traveling with my girlfriend, the guy on the desk has no idea about anything when I asked where is information centre, he don't know. On the end I find tours with arnots lodge they was really good and helpfull. Only good things about this hostel is the rooms are very nice and location is good as well

"Gerry is just grand"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   J W. of Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   March 4, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2012     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
clean, spacious and well organised. Breakfast fruit always fresh. central to all needs of town. Hostel host friendly and really helpful

"all around good"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Rachel P. of Nanoose Bay, Canada
Reviewed:   February 24, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2012     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel is clean, spacious, close to shopping and transit and was pretty quiet. The host was accessible and very friendly. I enjoyed my stay and felt safe there! I feel it was good value for your money.

"positiv experiences"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Denise J. of Menzberg, Luzern, Switzerland
Reviewed:   February 15, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2012     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Hostel was very clean, there was free breakfast with fruit, that was very nice. Staff was helpfull. We made a barbeque and he helped with the grill.
There was a store close by to buy some groceries, all in all good. I just don't liked Hilo so much. But thats my opinion.
I would recommend that Hostel.

"Nice warm and comfortable!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jia Jia Z. of Shanghai, China
Reviewed:   February 3, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It is a nice warm and comfortable hostel. The staff is very freindly and helpful! There is complimentary Wifi in the room. The hostel is very clean! It is close to the airport. Excellent!

"Good people, bad facilities"

User Rating:  3.1
Reviewer:   Molly J. of US, United States
Reviewed:   January 31, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2012     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great staff and group of people staying there, but not the best setup. Only one bathroom for all women (with toilet and shower awkwardly in the same room) and I got bed bug bites.

"Wonderful place to stay!!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sabine F. of Cologne, Germany
Reviewed:   January 28, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2012     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a great time in Hilo Backpackers! Great house, very clean, lots of space, very nice staff! One of the best hostels I ever stayed in!!!

"Thanks!"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   A K. of Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed:   January 5, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great Location. Very Helpful staff. Hot showers & Delicious Papaya for breakfast!
The only complaint would be that the rented towels had a bit of a smell to them...next time I'll just remember to bring my own!

"A good, central hostel"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Jaume T. of Consell, Spain
Reviewed:   December 22, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We spent two nights at the hostel. There is much space in the common areas and it doesn't feel crowded. Breakfast and transfer from the aiport are included. Friendly service and cleanliness

"highest recommendation for hilo backpacker hostel"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Inara S. of brooklyn, United States
Reviewed:   December 4, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2011     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Highest recommendations for Hilo Backpacker Hostel.
With a 2 night stay airport pickup is free- a huge plus for travellers from the eastern seaboard following a 12 hour flight and 6 hour time difference.
The atmosphere of the hostel is spacious,airy and clean to the very corners. All are requested to leave footwear at the door.
Location is central, close to bus station, green market,high street. The manager Jarred is accommodating, helpfuul, kind.
( to explain the 'satisfactory' cooking rating: it is a very very minor inconvenience that plugging in microwave shorts out the electrical circuits so guests must use appliances serially not simultaneously)


1 - 10 of 46 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us