Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.4
 Rooms  2.9
 Cleanliness  3.3
 Location  4.4
 Security & Safety  3.8
 Service & Staff  3.7
 Food / Dining  2.9
 Total  3.5

"Do not stay here!"

User Rating:  1.6
Reviewer:   Forrest J. of Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewed:   August 12, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had booked this place for two nights upon arriving in Athens and then one night two weeks later before leaving Greece. When we arrived they didn't have our reservations for either dates, but fortunately had one room left, which was their dungeon-like studio below street-level. The room was big and had an A/C unit which redeemed the place a little. The bathroom was really musty smelling and had no shower curtain so the entire floor got soaked and the drain hardly worked so if we walked into the bathroom during the night our feet got soaked. The real kicker though was when we returned two weeks later. They put us in a room facing the street and with Athens traffic being so awful we couldn't leave the window open if we wanted any sleep due to the noise. At this point Athens was sweltering hot and humid and the room had no fan or A/C. The only way I could sleep was by wetting a towel and covering myself with it. The day after staying here my sisters legs and arms broke out with horribly itchy bug bites that we can only figure were from bed bugs at this place. Really it was an awful experience at Dioskouros. The one positive thing I have to mention is that the German/Austrian??? woman at the front desk was extremely helpful and very nice. Otherwise the place sucks.

"trip"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Ghantus G. of ıstanbul, Turkey
Reviewed:   March 27, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
we want to ask about who match its well cost as for 6 nights for 3 people in one room.

"If you just want the hotel to sleep this is perfect!Great location!"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Alba S. of barcelona, Spain
Reviewed:   October 2, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It's good value for money if you look for something simple but well situated. Even if the rooms will have to be renovated: just a simple bed, a little table and a cupboard (no tv). Shared bathroom, but pretty clean. The most of the staff were really nice and helpful:thanks to the recepcionist from NYC and the man of the evening! (the morning recepcionist was not kind at all). The location couldn't be better! 5min to the acropolis and in the midle of plaka district! If you just want the hotel to sleep this is perfect!

"Booking"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Alexandra M. of Meersburg, Germany
Reviewed:   September 12, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We are looking for a group of students from the 19.9. to the 25.9. We have 8 boys and 6 girls and we need two rooms - one for me and the other for the boys teacher.
Please give us informationes and prices.
Thank you Alexandra Mahl

"2 visits to this hostel"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   HEATHER C. of SURREY, BC, Canada
Reviewed:   June 19, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I spent 2 short nights at this hostel, on my way to other countries.
The staff were very kind & helpful. They went out of their way to assist me with some specific issues. I was very pleased with the staff.
The building itself, is old and somewhat "tired". However, I beleive it is quite old.
The rooms were clean & the beds had a good mattress.
I felt that the cost was a bit high for the single room - but have been told this is the normal in Greece. So- why should I pay extra to use the A/C in my private room??
The location was close to the Acropolis - which is great for seeing it.
I found some merchants were not friendly- especially at a local coffee shop. There seems to be some attitude toward tourists who only want a coffee!
I was unhappy with the long cab ride to the airport. They charged 10 US more just because he took me in the night. Maybe he just ripped me off?

"Athens for one day only"

User Rating:  3.1
Reviewer:   Angela G. of Hazelbrook, Australia
Reviewed:   January 26, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Accommodation was basic but good.
It was an hour bus ride and then a 10 minute walk away from the airport.
Share facilities were basic, I think I got tinea from the shower even with thongs on.
Breaky was bread, jam, cucumber, tomatoes and olives - there is a nearby cafe...
We found that one day was more than enough in Athens, we went on an open bus tour and found it was a great way to get around.
All in all, a good stay for the right amount of time.

"Good Value"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Oswald F. of Bocholt, Germany
Reviewed:   November 11, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at the D. - me (teacher) and some 17 year old students - in November. The place was simple but clean & friendly. The location was excellent - my female students could return from the Plakka in the evening unattended, no problem. Akkropolis & Syntagma Sqaure & Plakka very near.

Not suitable for most of my established colleagues (shower not in the rooms) - but good for students on a strictly limited budget and old camping freaks like me who used to go backpacking as college students.

"great location"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Maria M. of wagga wagga, Australia
Reviewed:   October 25, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the room was a good size. with a balcony.
the beds are very uncomfortable, and the bathrooms smell alittle, as your shower and toilet are in the same room.
its also a very noisy place, especially when there are young travellers staying as they seem to come in at 2 and 3 in the morning and are rather loud and 2 and 3 in the morning talking
its in a great location, easy to find. owner is friendly and very helpful.
there is no lift so dont plan on taking a heavy suitcase. you only get fresh towels when you get there, and the rooms are remade until after you leave....

"Dioskouros"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Julie H. of Appleton Wiske North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   October 25, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very basic hostel type rooms but adequate, clean bedding [though I did hide the jaded rag mat under the bed]. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is ideally placed for all sites being 1 minute away from the main Plaka area, and has a lovely garden breakfast area and is quiet away from the traffic. Hotel rates are cheaper booked over the internet.

"heb het overleefd"

User Rating:  2.6
Reviewer:   Paul D. of Helmond, Netherlands
Reviewed:   October 20, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Nederlands-Dutch):
Erg basic allemaaal. door de haren op de vloe r maar steeds mijn slippers aangehouden. voor een paar euros meer slaap je net om de hoek veel beter..ik zou er nooit meer naar toe gaan.


1 - 10 of 23 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us