Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  2.4
 Rooms  3.1
 Cleanliness  3.3
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  3.7
 Service & Staff  3.4
 Food / Dining  3.3
 Total  3.4

"unfriendly and incompedent"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Padraig H. of kildare, Ireland
Reviewed:   February 25, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Doing some extinsive travel so staying in many hostels at the moment. I would whole hartely say DO NOT STAY IN COPA HOSTEL. They are unprofessional and rude. The hostel is 0 fun all they want to do is get extra money from you.
I could not say strongly enough to stay away from the copa hostel

"Férias Jan.10"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Estivison C. of Manaus, Brazil
Reviewed:   January 30, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Sobre a experência no copa hostel, podemos dizer que os peq problemas q existiram, de alguma forma foram compensados.

O apart que ficamos na rua djalma urich, em copacabana, é muito bom: vista pra praia, seguro, bonito, ótimo preço de diária, sem contar a localização, não só por estar em copacabana, mas por estar proximo do metro, ponto de onibos, taxis...

Ah, as dicas da recepção sobre visitação na cidade tb são mt boas!

Em resumo, é isso...

"A shame"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Roelof D. of Leeuwarden, Netherlands
Reviewed:   January 13, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
There are enough possibilities to make something of this hostel. That's why it's a shame.

I have to be honoust, maby we were lucky traveling in Argentina and had some good hostels. Maby that's why we didn't like this hostel. But there are a few things that are really disappointed.
the safety is a big issue in Rio. Normally I'm not really scared, but this was the first time I was. Buenos Aires, Lonon, Paris, Barcelona and many other big cities I have visit, but never I had the same feeling as now. When you read the Lonely Planet and the internet they warn you for some streets and neighbourhoods, but if you ask the staff at the Copa hostel, everything is safe. Well it's not, so don't believe them. The hostel has security, so you got the feeling it's save as soon as you are in. Still, when we got on the roof, the staff was looking like we were from another planet.
The prejudicements about Brazilians were true in this hostel. Three guides we booked, were cancelled and resceduled. When you are there for a week and wanna do as much as possibles, it's not nice if that happens. Don't trust the transfer to the airport. After waiting for a half hour, finally the staff helped us; by getting a taxi. It would be 15 minutes to the airport, now it was a hour (friday, 5 o'clock, but still).
The rooms are really small. The toilet have black water and don't take a shit on the toilets (I'll don't tell you the details).
We had to pay extra for the towels, but we didn't get clean liness. Two nights we spend in the hostel, five nights we spend at a appartment of the hostel (near the Copacabana). The appartment is okay, but still we didn't got cleamliness, not even after asking.
The breakfast is every day the same and poor. Better go the delicious fruite juice bars in the streets.
The staff is really arrogant. Most of them speak really poor English. That's not a big problem, but if they can't they just ignore you. The guy who speaks the best English (I think he's the boss too) acts like he's your best friend, but actually he tries to sell you as much as possible. We think he was really irritating us.
Most of the guests were Brazilian, and well, during this week, we didn't had a lot of contact with Brazilians. In the other hostels you have more contact with other guests. Doesn't mather where they a from. In Copa we didn't.
It's true that they have private party's at night in the hostel. We came back once and saw there was a party. Samba music, it look quite nice. We don't have a problem with a nice party, as long as we can join them. That was not possible. In our room we couldn't hear the music anymore. But maby it was because of the big noise the ventilator made.
The favela tour we booked was great. Well, great is not the good word, but it was impressive.
If you go to Rio, go for not more then a week and don't visit this hostel.

"Expensive but Ok"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Roland S. of Zofingen, Switzerland
Reviewed:   December 29, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Location is awesome, rooms (Apt. in my case) was ok but a bit old. For this kind of Apt. the price was to expensive. Very friendly and excellent english speaking staff, good breakfast.

"Copa Hostel"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Thais S. of São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed:   November 18, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nos hospedamos em um apto super confortável, bem perto da praia. Fomos muito bem atendidas. O pessoal do hostel nos deu algumas opções passeios, inclusive fizemos um para o Corcovado que foi muito legal. Vale a pena!

"Bom atendimento"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Júlio F. of Goiânia, Brazil
Reviewed:   October 13, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Ao chegar no albergue havia um overbooking do quarto que eu havia reservado. Porém o problema rapidamente foi resolvido e acabei ficando em um quarto vista para o mar. Os staffs são bastantes gentis e os quartos bem organizados. Com certeza voltarei em minha proxima visita a cidade.

"manager hostel"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Enrique L. of goteborg, Sweden
Reviewed:   February 23, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
good


1 - 7 of 7 reviews




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us