Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.6
 Cleanliness  4.7
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.8
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.5

"Comfy, safe, convenient to ferry"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Carrie M. of Corpus Christi, United States
Reviewed:   January 14, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2018     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We chose this hotel on AirBnB because of its location right across the street from the passenger ferry that takes you to Isla Mujeres as we planned on taking the ferry over to the island one day but still wanted to be on the mainland so we could check out other parts of the Cancun area.
The street the hotel is on is Lopez Portillo, which is the main street that runs up to the north from Cancun. From right outside the hotel, you can catch a bus, colectivo (van) or taxi to get anywhere in the Cancun area that you want, so you don't really NEED a car but we rented one at the airport because we were going to Isla Blanca at the very north end of the road, where you can learn to kiteboard on the flat shallow lagoon and there are kiteboarding schools set up there during the windy season (Nov-April). You need a car to get up to Isla Blanca because convincing a taxi to go up that far would have been difficult.
The hotel let us park our rental car inside its protected walls and there is a watchman on duty 24/7 so it's very safe. A lot of people come and go from the parking lot because the hotel rents out its parking spaces to drivers who take the ferry and want to leave their car on the mainland. But our room felt really private and was quiet at night.
The hotel's pool wasn't working when we were there and the restaurant was closed for the holidays. But we found restaurants nearby and bought snacks and hot coffee at the Oxxo grocery store across the street. The hotel watchman (Homero) gave us some bowls and spoons to eat cereal in our room and carried a mini fridge up to our room for us to use, so he was very accommodating.
Our hotel room was basic but comfortable and clean. Our son enjoyed lounging in the hammock that hung over his bed and we loved hanging out on the bright yellow balcony that looks out onto some tropical treetops.
Suggested improvements would be to add a communal kitchen area for guests to use (like a hostel) and establish a place near the pool where guests can rinse out and hang wet swim suits, beach towels and wetsuits to dry on a clothes line. In the room, some shelves to put clothes on would be nice, as there was just one small hanging clothes rod and one small table, so we kept everything in our suitcases on the floor. Although the folk art is cute,a little less of that on the patio would clear more table space, giving you more room to put stuff.
Although the hotel is not "on the beach," there is a public beach called Playa Ninos about a 10-minute walk up the road to the north that is low-key and fairly nice with some palm roof shade structures and a lifeguard stand. The beaches in Puerto Juarez are on the bay and not as stunning as the ones in the Cancun Hotel Zone but have their own charm. We prefer the beaches at Isla Mujeres or Isla Blanca, though, and this hotel is located between those two, so it was a good spot for us.

"A cute hotel in a beautiful location"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Nancy S. of Victor, Montana, United States
Reviewed:   December 24, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Casitas Kinsol is a family run hotel with a number of rooms built around the families' home. The room was very nice, plumbing worked well and the owner/manager was very kind, spoke good English, and helped us with various questions. If you are considering this hotel, you must remember that it is in the town of Puerto Morelos, not the beach area. We walked the 3 or 4 kilometers to get to the beach with no problem. Others ride bikes or take a local bus. There are not any of the groovy tourist shops or cafes around the town, but there is plenty of authentic local places. Knowledge of Spanish would be helpful in the town area, but we got by just fine with minimal Spanish to explain our vegetarian eating. For simple travellers that want an authentic Mexican experience, this place is perfect.

"Perfect stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Hannah F. of Victoria, Australia
Reviewed:   October 31, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Kinsol is an oasis in the sweet town of Puerto Moroles. Our host ensured we ate the best local food and saw the highlights of the town, including the amazing botanical garden, and snorkeling in the amazing reef. Kinsol was a relaxing, welcoming and truly beautiful place for our first few days in Mexico.

"A lot to improve"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Joe M. of Memphis, United States
Reviewed:   September 21, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I got what I paid for, cheap price = cheap expectations.
Wondering to return? No, thanks.

"Great stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jesus T. of GUADALAJARA, Mexico
Reviewed:   July 25, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Really lovely place. Recomended 100%

"Great Stay"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Louis B. of Bedford NS, Canada
Reviewed:   May 12, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very friendly host. Valuable advice on places to eat and visit. Host advised us on 2 very nice restaurants very close by. We got the true Yucatan experience with her help. Ended up staying 2 more days...

"Magical garden village and charming hosts!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Stephanie S. of College Park, MD, United States
Reviewed:   April 26, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Tucked away in a Mexican neighborhood on the “town side” of Puerto Morelos, hidden behind a wrought iron gate, is a wonderfully designed tiny village of casitas in a magical garden setting. This oasis is made even more appealing by its charming hosts Christine and Alain and their menagerie of dogs, cat, and turtle. This was our second stay at Casitas Kinsol – last year we spent two nights which was far too short, so this year we stayed 4 nights – and at the end it was even harder to leave than it was the first time!

Christine and Alain are both welcoming and friendly and they have poured their hearts and souls into creating and maintaining this beautiful little oasis. Christine is a talented designer, and everywhere you look there are carefully chosen and artfully placed objects of pottery and glass and wood. An open-air shared lounge/dining area provides an attractive place to socialize or have a snack, and another lounge above provides a slightly more secluded space with a treehouse feel. Last year we stayed happily in Room #2, their smallest room which we found very cozy, comfortable, and attractive; this year we stayed in Room #1, an authentic Mayan hut with its own garden courtyard and a small kitchen area. The other rooms we saw were all very attractive as well, each very individual and thoughtfully designed. All have very nice bathrooms with beautiful tile work, and all of the rooms were very clean and neat, as were the common areas.

As pet lovers, we thoroughly enjoyed spending time with the elegant cat Mis-ha and the three sweet dogs Taxi, Nena, and Tati. And we very much enjoyed our conversations with Christine and Alain, about the past, present, and future of Puerto Morelos, world affairs, animals, art, and life in general. They also provided excellent advice about local restaurants and things to do.

Puerto Morelos itself is a refreshing change from the more touristed parts of this region. There seem to be just the right number of fellow travelers enjoying the charms of Puerto Morelos to support a nice variety of restaurants while allowing it to remain calm and civilized and relaxing. We enjoyed exploring both the tourist-oriented beach side of Puerto Morelos and the locals-oriented town side. We did not have a rental car but it was easy to get around with taxis or the Kinsol’s own bicycles; it’s a very short and ridiculously cheap taxi ride from Kinsol to the beach (5 minutes and 30 pesos). All in all, Casitas Kinsol is a unique, charming, and lovely place to stay, and an exceptional value compared with the much higher prices of beach resorts and condos. Also the short 20-minute drive to/from the airport make it a very convenient first or last stop if you are visiting other areas. We will definitely be returning to Casitas Kinsol each time we come to the Riviera Maya. Highly recommended!

"Beyond excellent"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Josephine C. of Fort worth, United States
Reviewed:   April 10, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Ive travel the world and I have been in many countries, in many fine hotels, by far this is the best place I’ve ever stayed. I am excited about returning again. Very comfortable relaxed atmosphere. Beauty beyond compare. The Decour was so well thought of. Very clean. The host was very pleasant and helpful. I love beauty in nature this room had plenty of both. The common areas were so friendly and inviting. Everything you could possibly want or need was available. I give it five stars

"Artistic Mexican Lodging"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Beverley T. of Calgary Alberta, Canada
Reviewed:   April 3, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Christine has worked hard to make her little hotel as comfortable as possible. The place is spotless, lots of hot water, clean and comfy beds, delightful green courtyard. There is good wifi and even a room safe. The lobby cum office features inviting sofas, huge fridge for guests, and toaster oven. She took me to the doctor when I was ill which I so much appreciated. Keep in mind this place is in Colonia but near to local restaurants and shuttle transportation to the beach, as well as short walk to ADO bus stop for transport to Cancun or Puerto del Carmen.

"Great experience at Casitas Kinsol"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Dave H. of Boonsboro MD, United States
Reviewed:   February 16, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If you’re going to visit Puerto Morelos this is the place to stay!


1 - 10 of 131 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us